News Release

Town of Hilton Head Island Logo

New Hilton Head Island Mayor and Town Council Members Take Office

December 8, 2022

Newly elected Hilton Head Island Mayor Alan Perry officially began his four-year term of office on Tuesday, December 6 after taking the oath of office among family, friends, Island residents and Town staff.

Perry, who grew up on Hilton Head Island and works in mortgage lending, became the Town's 11th mayor since its incorporation in 1983. He was elected in November following the general election and a run-off race. Following his oath of office, Perry said, "Our Island community has led the way for great things from the early day of the freedmen's town of Mitchelville to the modern day first green developer, Charles Fraser. History, arts, environment, and culture are in our roots, and we must look to the past for a strong direction forward. Over the past 100 days or so, the word harmony has been a word I have used often on where I would like to see our community go. Decorum, respect, transparency, along with listening and clear and accurate communication is how we will achieve harmony, not only in this chamber but outside of these walls within our community."

Three other council members elected in November - Patsy Brison, who is representing Ward 2; Steve Alfred, who is representing Ward 5; and Tamara Becker, who was reelected to represent Ward 4 - also took their oaths of office. Sworn in by Beaufort County magistrate judge and former Hilton Head Island mayor Drew Laughlin, the new mayor and council members will serve from December 2022 to December 2026.

The remaining three members of the seven member council are Alex Brown, who represents Ward 1; David Ames, who represents Ward 3; and Glenn Stanford who represents Ward 6. Terms for Brown, Ames and Stanford run from December 2020 to December 2024.

In addition to the swearing-in ceremony, the Town Council elected David Ames as mayor pro tem. The following council members were appointed as chairpersons of the Town Council’s standing committees: Alex Brown, Finance and Administrative Committee; Tammy Becker, Community Services and Public Safety Committee; and David Ames, Public Planning Committee.

About the Elected Town Council Members

Perry gained experience with local government by serving on the Town's Planning Commission, which focused on land use, zoning changes, capital improvement projects and other public initiatives. He was also a member of the Town's Program for Public Information Committee. Perry has been involved extensively with many community organizations including the Hilton Head Island St. Patrick's Day Parade, which he currently chairs; People for Parks, the RBC Heritage Classic Presented by Boeing Announcers, and the Hilton Head Island Recreation Association. He is a member of Providence Presbyterian Church, the Hilton Head Area Association of Realtors, and the Greater Hilton Head Island Mortgage Lenders Association. Perry attended Anderson College and the College of Charleston. In his free time, Perry enjoys boating and spending time with family and friends.

Becker begins her second term on the Town Council. She was first elected in 2018 and has served on the council’s Community Safety and Public Service, Finance and Administrative, and Public Planning committees. She has lived on Hilton Head Island since 2009. She has a bachelor’s degree in psychology and political science, and a master's degree in counseling. Becker has a vast professional background, and carries several professional certifications including criminology, teaching, research, and alcohol and drug addiction counseling. Her drive and passion come from the work she has been doing for the community since being elected to Town Council. She is proud and humbled to continue to serve the residents of Hilton Head Island while protecting and preserving the Island for the generations to come.

Brison came to Hilton Head Island from North Carolina, where she had 31-year-long career as an attorney, both in the public sector as Assistant City Attorney for the City of Asheville, North Carolina, and in private practice as a partner in a regional law firm. Her experiences included working on public-private partnerships in the redevelopment of downtown Asheville and representing neighborhoods in local government issues.  Upon moving to the Hilton Head Island, Brison immersed herself in Town matters. Most recently, she chaired the Town's Board of Zoning Appeals. She has been active with Bike Walk Hilton Head, church activities and Coalition of Island Neighbors (COIN), an Island-wide coalition she co-founded for fulltime residents. She received a bachelor's degree in political science and international studies from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro, and her law degree from Campbell University in North Carolina. In her free time, Brison enjoys exercising, playing golf, traveling, hosting family visits to the beaches and entertaining friends with music.

Alfred has long-term experience as an elected local government official and as a consultant with state and local governments. Alfred recently served on the Town's Planning Commission and has been involved with the safety and maintenance aspects of Community Services Associates' operations in Sea Pines. Before moving to Hilton Head Island, Alfred spent 16 years in local government in Ohio, serving as the mayor of the City of Shaker Heights, Ohio, for eight years, preceded by eight years on the Shaker Heights City Council. Alfred practiced law for 38 years in Cleveland, specializing in federal income tax, financing transactions, and municipal matters. He's an alumnus of Princeton University and Harvard Law School. In his free time, Alfred is an avid biker, frequently riding with the Kickin' Asphalt bike club, plays pickle ball, and enjoys spending time with his children and grandchildren.

For more information on the Hilton Head Island Town Council and its members and responsibilities, visit

Carolyn Grant, Communications Director