Gullah-Geechee Land & Cultural Preservation Task Force

English | Español

Operating under the jurisdiction of the Planning Commission and with considerable public input, the Gullah-Geechee Land and Cultural Preservation Task Force identifies and assists in the preservation of The Gullah-Geechee culture for the purpose of detecting and resolving issues specific to its community, including, without limitation, heirs property, taxes and land use, economic and sustainability issues for an improved quality of life, and education of the community.

Agendas & Minutes

Meeting agendas and approved minutes are posted as they become available.


Member Name  
Ibrihim Abdul-Malik Gullah-Geechee / Native Island Culture Organization
John Campbell Planning Commission Member
Vacant Native Islander
Shani Green Native Islander
Tom Henz Planning Commission Member
Vacant Planning Commission Member
Palmer Simmons, Vice Chair Native Islander
Lavon Stevens, Chair At-Large
Joyce Wright At-Large

Information & Resources

Task Force Information

  • Members: 9
  • Meetings: 1st Monday of the month at 1 pm
    View Meeting Schedule for exceptions
  • Membership Requirements: Members consist of three Planning Commission members, three representatives from the Native Island community, and three members from organizations that have a mission dealing with Gullah-Geechee or Native Island culture.

Meeting Schedule

Gullah-Geechee Land & Cultural Preservation Task Force Meeting Archives

* Historical Agendas, Minutes and Videos for 2018 to present may be accessed via the Meeting Calendar

Search Historical Approved Meeting Minutes