News Release

Town of Hilton Head Island Logo

Local Citizens Receive Honored Islander Awards in Recognition of Their Community Service

April 29, 2022

Congratulations to Emory Campbell, Marianne Krall, Michael Jukofsky and Patti Soltys on receiving the Hilton Head Island Mayor’s Honored Islander Award for their volunteerism.

"April is National Volunteer Month and we're proud to recognize these Islanders for their service. Whenever I am asked about Hilton Head Island’s greatest quality, I always say it’s the people who live here and contribute to making our community a better place," said Mayor John McCann. "I'm especially grateful to each of these honorees for their contributions and selfless devotion to our Island. I also want to thank the hundreds of other volunteers who give back to our community."

Gullah history is an important part of Hilton Head Island’s history. As a Gullah historian, Island native Emory Campbell ensures that this history is kept alive. He was recognized for continuously raising the profile of Hilton Head Island as an enriching educational destination and informing others of the economic value of the high-end tourist segment. Campbell has elevated awareness of the value of “cultural and historical tourism” through his extensive research and publishing record. He has served as chair of the Gullah-Geechee Cultural Heritage Corridor Commission, which is tasked with honoring and preserving the Gullah-Geechee Culture along the coast from Jacksonville, Florida to Wilmington, North Carolina. With a belief in protecting the community, Campbell promoted and conducted delivery of COVID-19 vaccinations to underserved communities.

The Deep Well organization thrives on volunteers who bring a range of leadership and hands-on experience. That's where Marianne Krall comes in. She followed her passion for helping others by volunteering at Deep Well. She later became a board member and served a stint as its board chair.  She also served on the board of directors for Memory Matters, including being its board president. She currently spends her time volunteering at the Children's Center.

Giving back to the community through his small business was one of Michael Jukofsky’s core business values. As the owner of MAJ Enterprises and an active member of the Hilton Head Island Rotary Club, Jukofsky has found ways to help. Some examples of his contributions include restriping faded crosswalk signs at Hilton Head Island High School after a student was hit by a car. He and his employees worked with the Rotary Club to install the bicycle map signage on the Island. They also built and installed pedestal monuments for the Hilton Head Island Hall of Fame. Jukofsky has held several positions in the Rotary Club, including club president. He was recently selected to be the Rotary’s District 7770 Governor.

Patti Soltys earns accolades for being a solution-oriented volunteer. She discovered the need for a safe, caring place for the children of workers who spend Saturdays cleaning timeshare villas during the tourist season. She brought the idea of Saturday school for children of timeshare cleaners to the Children's Center and helped raised the funds to support it. In 2021, the Saturday school opened, giving parents a place to leave their young children while they go to work. Funds have already been raised to cover the cost of 2022. For many years, in November, Soltys puts a collection of items together and sends "care boxes" to service people in Iraq, Syria, Kuwait and Yemen.  Last year, she mailed 47 boxes!  She is hoping to send more boxes to units in need for Memorial Day.


About the Mayor’s Honored Islander Award Program

The Mayor's Honored Islander Award Program publicly recognizes Hilton Head Island residents who make a significant sacrifice of their time, talents and/or resources, to better the community without compensation or significant public or media attention. A committee of individuals appointed by the mayor reviews nominations and selects individuals to receive the award. Anyone or any organization may nominate individuals for the award. For more information or for a nomination form, visit

Carolyn Grant, Communications Director