

Town of Hilton Head Island

Planning Commission Meeting

March 29, 2023, at 3:00 p.m.

MEETING MINUTES

Present from the Commission: Mark O'Neil, Vice-Chairman; Rick D'Arienzo; Tom Henz; John Campbell; Chuck Lobaugh; Albert Mealer; Ellen Whaley

Present from Town Staff; Joshua A. Gruber, *Deputy Town Manager*; Angie Stone, *Assistant Town Manager*; Missy Luick, *Assistant Community Development Director*; Bob Bromage, *Director of Public Safety*; Shea Farrar, *Senior Planner*; Krishana Perry, Principal Planner Historic Neighborhood Preservation; Karen Knox, *Senior Administrative Assistant*; Brian Glover, *Administrative Assistant*

Present from Town Council: Glenn Stanford, Patsy Brison, Tammy Becker, Steve Alfred

Other's Present: Curtis Coltrane, Esquire

1. Call to Order

Vice-Chairman Mark O'Neil called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m.

2. Pledge of Allegiance

3. FOIA Compliance

Public notification of this meeting has been published, posted, and distributed in compliance with the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act and the Town of Hilton Head Island requirements.

4. Roll Call

5. Swearing in Ceremony of New Commissioners:

Josh Gruber, Deputy Town Manager, swore in Chuck Lobaugh, Albert Mealer, and Ellen Whaley and thanked them for serving.

6. Approval of Agenda

Chairman O'Neil asked for a motion to approve the agenda. Commissioner Lobaugh moved to approve. Commissioner D'Arienzo seconded. By a show of hands, the motion passed with a vote of 7-0-0.

7. Approval of Minutes

None

8. Appearance by Citizens

Many citizens spoke about development on the island and the impacts of the LMO changes. Those citizens included Kelly Leblanc, Mark Simmson, Skip Hoaglin, Ronda Carper, Daniel Anthony, Mary Pratt, Karl Braden, Newton Green, Jack Daly, Amy Fee, George Poletta, and Joe Judge.

Josephine Wright spoke about her treatment by developers trying to purchase her property.

9. Unfinished Business

a. LMO Amendments – The Town of Hilton Head Island is proposing to amend Chapters 4 and 10 of the Land Management Ordinance (LMO) to revise the following sections:

Section 16-4-103.D.2, 16-4-103.E.2, and 16-10-105 to eliminate the allowance of divisible dwelling units; and Section 16-10-103.A.2 to modify multifamily and single-family definitions.

Ms. Luick provided the staff's presentation as included in the packet. The commission asked about the locations of the properties, the buffer regulations, and the creation of non-conforming structures.

Commissioner Henz moved to approve the amendments. Commissioner Lobaugh seconded the motion. With a motion on the floor, the commission held a short discussion on the motion. The discussion was open to public comment, and several citizens spoke. The chairman called for a vote on the motion. The motion was carried with a vote of 7-0-0.

10. New Business

a. Nomination and Election of Officers for a term from March 29, 2023 – June 30, 2023.

The nominating committee nominated Bruce Siebold as Chairman and Mark O'Neil as Vice-Chairman. No other nominations were made. The officers were voted in with a vote of 7-0-0.

11. Commission Business

Commissioner O'Neil stated that there should be a workshop to help further educate the commission on several topics to help future meetings go smoothly.

12. Chairman's Report

None

13. Staff Reports

Ms. Luick stated that a workshop is being planned, including the topics Commissioner O'Neil mentioned previously. Additionally, the commission asked for additional items to be added to the workshop.

14. Adjournment

Commissioner Whaley moved to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner D'Arienzo seconded. The meeting was adjourned at 4:44 p.m.

Submitted by: Brian Glover

Administrative Assistant

Approved: April 19, 2023