• Text Size:
  • A
  • A
  • A

News Release

Hilton Head Island Town Council Appoints U.S. 278 Gateway Corridor Committee

Release Date: January 16, 2019

Contact Information:
Carolyn Grant email icon , Communications Director, 843-341-4618

With the recent adoption of a resolution calling for the formation of the Hilton Head Island U.S. 278 Gateway Corridor Committee, the Hilton Head Island Town Council on Tuesday formally appointed 14 local citizens to serve on the advisory panel.

The committee will work with the South Carolina Department of Transportation (SCDOT), which is planning roadway improvements along U.S. 278 from the intersection of Moss Creek Drive to the intersection of Spanish Wells Road. This will include the eastbound bridge crossing Mackay Creek to Hilton Head Island, which the SCDOT has deemed as structurally deficient, and the other three bridges crossing Mackay Creek and the Intracoastal Waterway.

"This is a major project that will have considerable impact on the environment, communities situated along the area slated for improvement and the island as a whole," said John J. McCann, the Mayor of Hilton Head Island. "We have heard about potential effects from families, businesses and other island residents. We felt strongly that we needed a way for the community to be involved, and this committee will help fulfill that role."

According to its charter, the committee will work cooperatively with the SCDOT to gather information, obtain and provide citizen input into the environmental process, and make recommendations to Town Council regarding the U.S. 278 environmental assessment and design alternatives. The environmental assessment process is the first step in the project and will identify various alternative treatments for this crossing; evaluate the environmental, cultural and social impacts of each alternative; and develop a recommended alternative.

This committee is representative of families in the historic Stoney community, located along U.S. 278 in the proposed project zone, and area businesses. It consists of individuals with vast experience in transportation, planning and the environment. Appointed committee members include:

David C. Johnson Jr., Chairman. David is an investor and entrepreneur with 40 years of experience in asset management. He is a partner with Speyside Partners. He spearheaded Citizens for Better Roads and Bridges and is a member of the Greater Island Council Regional Committee, the Savannah Music Festival Board of Trustees and the Calvin Coolidge Presidential Foundation Board of Trustees. He has lived on Hilton Head Island for two years.

DeJuan R. Holmes, Vice-Chairman. DeJuan is a native of Hilton Head Island. He has a background in law enforcement and serves in the South Carolina Army National Guard. He is currently employed with Sea Pines Security.

Frank Babel. Frank is a former executive with 32 years of experience in finance, marketing, sales and other areas of business. He is co-chairman of the Hilton Head Island Bicycle Advisory Committee and serves on the Greater Island Council Transportation Committee and the Sea Pines Leisure Trails Safety Committee. Frank has lived on Hilton Head Island for 14 years. 

Alexander Brown Jr.  Alex, a native of Hilton Head Island, is vice president of operations for Resort Retail Operations Inc. He has more than 20 years of experience in business and community involvement.  He is chairman of the Town's Planning Commission. He serves on the Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration Committee and the I.W. Wilborn Jr. Scholarship Golf Classic Committee. He coaches basketball at Hilton Head Island High School and is a member of Central Oak Grove Baptist Church.

Tom Z. Crews. Tom is an architect with more than 32 years of experience with local project design and coordination. He is currently a consultant for the Court Atkins Group. Tom is a board member of the Hilton Head Island Concours d'Elegance & Motoring Festival, the Windmill Harbour Property Owners Association, and the architectural review boards for Palmetto Hall, Sea Pines and Spanish Pointe. He has served on numerous Town committees including the Comprehensive Plan Committee, the Land Management Ordinance Rewrite Committee and the Planning Commission.

Jerry W. Cutrer.  Jerry, a Hilton Head Island resident for 16 years, has more than 40 years of experience as a municipal finance professional. He is currently vice president of the Town's Board of Zoning Appeals and is a member of the Greater Island Council. He served on the board of directors for the Hilton Head Plantation Property Owners' Association and was a former city councilman in Roswell, Georgia.

J. Craig Forrest. Craig has more than 40 years of experience in transportation, including working at the Maryland Department of Transportation. He is a former director of transportation planning for Baltimore County in Maryland. He was involved with the Lowcountry Regional Transportation Authority, the Greater Island Council and Sun City Hilton Head's Government and Business Committee. Craig currently serves on the Beaufort County Transportation Committee.

Marc A. Grant. Marc is a Hilton Head Island Town Councilman and will serve as an ex-officio member of the committee. He is a longtime resident of Hilton Head Island and has a background in education and business.Marc is self-employed with Grant's Mini Market and has served on the Town Council since 2012. He is a member of Queen Chapel A.M.E. Church.

Hannah Horne. Hannah is a five-year resident of Hilton Head Island. She is a former news reporter and producer, and is currently a vice president with the Hilton Head Island-Bluffton Chamber of Commerce. She is affiliated with Providence Presbyterian Church.

David T. Lunka.  David has worked in the field of construction as a general contractor, developer and consultant for nearly 40 years. He is a dispute resident advisor for the Ohio Department of Transportation. David has lived on Hilton Head Island for five years and is a board member for the Paddocks development on Hilton Head Island.

Thomas D. Peeples. Tom formerly served as Mayor of Hilton Head Island for 15 years and as a Town Council member for six years. He has lived on Hilton Head Island for 45 years and is the owner of Tom Peeples Builder. He has been involved with the Coastal Discovery Museum, the Homebuilders Association of Hilton Head Island and the Hilton Head Island-Bluffton Chamber of Commerce.

Brendan Reilley. Brendan is a Hilton Head Island native and restauranteur who is self-employed with Coastal Restaurant and Bars. He is on the board of the South Carolina Restaurant and Lodging Association and is involved with People for Parks.

John Taylor. John is an economist who has lived on Hilton Head Island for three years. He has worked as a regulatory consultant and expert witness for utilities in North America. He brings experience as a national leader for Sierra Club outings. He is owner of Birdie James Boutique, a principal consultant with Black & Veatch, and a sales director for Nova Data Testing.

Kyle H. Theodore. Kyle, a 20-year resident of Hilton Head Island, is a landscape architect and principal with Wood+Partners Inc. She is a member of the Town's Design Review Board and the Island Recreation Association Board of Directors. She previously served on the Hilton Head Island Mayor’s Circle to Circle Committee and is a member of First Presbyterian Church.

The public may sign up on the Town’s website (hiltonheadislandsc.gov) to receive notices and updates about the committee's meetings and work.