• Text Size:
  • A
  • A
  • A

Press Release

Mayor's Youth Volunteer Service Award Ceremony

Release Date: May 15, 2012

Contact Information:
Faidra T. Smith , Public Information Coordinator, (843)341-4640, Fax: (843)842-7728

Mayor Drew Laughlin presented forty-seven Hilton Head Island middle school and high school students with the Mayor's Youth Volunteer Service Award at a special ceremony at Town Hall on Monday, May 14, 2012. The ceremony presented a way to thank and honor these students who, by their demonstrated commitment and example, inspired others to engage in volunteer service and who have given their valuable time and effort into making a difference in our community.

All forty-seven students completed more than 50 hours of community service since May 1, 2011 contributing a total of more than 6,110 volunteer hours to our community. Nineteen of the forty-seven contributed more than 150 hours of service to earn the Mayor's Call to Service Award and three of the forty-seven contributed more than 300 volunteer hours.

Recipients for each level included:

Silver Level (51to 100 hours):

Jillian Angner, Emily Blackshire, Jessica Bonilla, Hannah Brink, Dan Chambers, Marc Halseth, Kaeleigh Judge, Shane Judge, Peyton Leitner, Abigail Marlin, Darby O'Donnell, Kensley Phillips, Collins Richardson, Kayla Schauss, William Scheifele, Hannah Simpson, Emily Tedesco, Brad Tigges, Mark Tigges, Kaley VanEenenaam, Ben Warner, Sydnee Wheeler, and Spencer Woofolk.

Gold Level (101 to 150 hours):

Marielle Alexander, Adrian Austin, Conner Hollifield, Maya Nelander, and Justin Shaw.

Mayor's Call to Service Award (More than 150 hours):

Erin Andersen, Tara Bianco, Austin Borasky, Caitlin Buckalew, Mary Hannah Carroll, Caroline Cauthen, Kaylee Ehlers, Nick Evangelista, Jasmyn Howell, Emma McGoldrick, Jean-Luc McMurtry, Kevin Palacio, Forest Richardson, Jane Whaley Rogers, Julia Swidzinski, Toere Taalib-din, Tommy Vater, Nicholas Wheeler, and Jean White.

Silver Award Recipients

Gold Award Recipients

Mayor's Call to Service Award Recipients